Disaster Assistance extension introduced in Senate

Author: Mike Williams | Posted: 7/18/2012
Sens. Max Baucus (D-MT), Jon Tester (D-MT), Kent Conrad (D-ND) and Tim Johnson (S-SD) introduced legislation last week that would extend for one year the 2008 Farm Bill disaster programs that expired at the end of Fiscal Year 2011. Those programs include: the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) program, the Livestock Indemnity Program (LIP), the Livestock Forage Program (LFP), and the Emergency Livestock Assistance Program (ELAP). House Agriculture Committee Ranking Member Peterson (D-MN) said this week that an extension of SURE should be included in a conference agreement on the Farm Bill.